A dream which thought me about a profound part of life after death

Praveen Kumar
3 min readApr 1, 2021

--

This is a dream which changed my perspective of death and after. How it is different from our current reality of life. We all have an identity, although we are called just “body” after death without calling out our name instead, our identities still remain in someone else’s memories. Have you had a thought of what happens when you have no identity? when you had no name? what happens if you don’t stay in anyone’s memories? Have you had a thought that everyone having the same name, or no name, no identities, or being without one’s own thoughts or memories?

I had a dream, the scene of this dream was that I have lost someone I know (but, they are still alive). It was a lucid dream, so I was able to follow them in my dream wherever they are going, assuming that I am following their soul or spirit body, assuming that it is not their physical selves. At some point, I was back in my room. I was sleeping and all of a sudden, I saw their spirit (I am still in a thought that they are passed away).

To start a conversation with the dead, I asked “Tell me about the afterlife”, “What is it being there?”. The immediate response that I got from the person is their face vanished, it didn’t end there, to make it more evident, they came near to my face to show that they have no face afterlife. It was really scary to see the faceless and also to know that there are no faces after death, even for our spirit or soul.

But then the real conversation happened when the face started to grow back to what it was earlier. It is a teaching of how one loses their identities, merges, and becomes “One” than being many. The teaching was that after death, there is a unity, that we lose our individual identities which are pointless after we die in this physical realm and the death is not an end, but just a phase in our larger life to be in union with everything and learn the lessons from all the other faceless spirits together. The construct of life as we know is just physical death, but life in the physical realm is very short compared to the life outside it.

We might have had a lot of other physical lives earlier, faced physical death many many times, but we don’t remember because we are ignorant, or maybe it’s not something that’s not important to process here in this realm, or it’s pointless to think about the past and only the experiences and learning matters.

Coming to this earth in this physical form with all the distractions, It has become so hard to experience the oneness with the universe. Float in the bliss, which is the after physical life. Knowing that we are eternal and the sufferings in the physical world are very shorter. We are going back to the oneness soon, but not forgetting the things that need to be done here and also preparing for the transition than being in fear of death.

But, who am I to say what’s after death or if there’s anything after death? It can be anything, all I can do is imagine, dream, ask in my actual dream, talk to my subconscious about what does it thinks about the death that I am going to embrace one day in the future. Who knows what after death? Nobody that’s alive knows, nor the dead tells.

--

--

Praveen Kumar

A so-called intelligent primate, Budding writer, Artist, Oneironaut